Multiple Brazilian officials elected to international positions

June 14, 2013
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

International Positions for Brazilian Officials

Every country wants to be seen as helping to make positive change on an international level. One way for this to happen is by having authorities from that country sitting on worldwide organizations. Over the last few years, Brazil has been celebrating feats just like this as authorities from the country have been named to positions in the World Trade Organization (WTO), the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR), the Organization of American States (OAS) and the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC).

This means Brazilian officials are working with global teams to work on matters that affect legal, health, agriculture, chemical weapons and human rights of women. The list of those to gain international appointment looks like this:

Paulo Vannuchi – The former Minister was elected to a position of the IACHR of the OAS.

Roberto Carvalho de Azevedo – The Brazilian Ambassador took over as the director-general position of the WTO and is the only Latin American to have held the post throughout the history of the institution.

José Sette – Chosen for the position of executive director of the International Cotton Advisory Committee (ICAC). Sette competed against candidates of 26 different nationalities.

José Augusto Lindgren Alves – The ambassador was recently re-elected as a member of the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination (CERD) of the United Nations (UN).

José Graziano da Silva – The former minister was selected to the post of Director-General of the United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO).

Robério Oliveira Silva – Elected to the position of executive director of the International Coffee Organization.

Gilberto Savoy – The Ambassador was elected to the International Law Commission.

Roberto Figueiredo Caldas – Was chosen for one of the seven positions of the InterAmerican Court of Human Rights.

Silvia Pimentel – Gained a position on the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women.

Braulio Ferreira de Souza Dias – Chosen to be the Executive Secretary of the Convention on Biological Diversity

João Clemente Baena Soares – Former Secretary General of the OAS and former ambassador was elected as the president of the Inter-American Juridical Committee (IAJC)

Maria Margarida Pressburger – a Brazilian lawyer was reelected for another mandate on the Subcommittee on Prevention of Torture.

Comments are closed.